Delgado Receives Gold Medallion Award from National Council on Marketing and Public Relations

November 04, 2022

Delgado Community College has received a Gold Medallion Award from the National Council on Marketing and Public Relations (NCMPR). The award was given to the Delgado Communications and Marketing team on Oct. 24 during ceremonies at the NCMPR District 2 regional conference in St. Petersburg, FL.

Delgado was represented at the event by team member Hilton Guidry. He was presented with a trophy and an award certificate from NCMPR.

Delgado’s Gold Medallion Award was in the category of TV/Video Paid Advertisement (Series), in recognition of two commercials created by Delgado Communications and Marketing in association with WGNO-TV of New Orleans. Titled “My Choice is Delgado Community College,” the two videos each feature a Delgado student as spokesperson: Deondra Coleman and Benne' George. They were made in March 2022 with assistance from the Delgado Theatre Department and students enrolled in the Acting for the Camera class. Professor Kristopher LaMorte was the instructor.

View the two award-winning video productions on the Delgado YouTube channel.

The NCMPR Medallion Awards recognize outstanding achievement in design and communication at community and technical colleges in each of NCMPR’s seven districts. There are three winners in each category of competition: Gold, Silver and Bronze. The regional competition is exclusive to marketing and public relations professionals at two-year colleges.

NCMPR District 2 members include Delgado Community College, Miami Dade College, Spartanburg (SC) Community College and other community colleges of all sizes in 11 Southeastern states and three British territories. A list of all 2022 Medallion Award winners can be seen online .

The Delgado Communications and Marketing team is: Tony Cook, Director; Hilton Guidry, Web Content Specialist; Leslie Salinero, Creative Services Coordinator; Tyler Scheuermann, Athletics Communications; and Todd Taylor, Videographer/Photographer.

Benne' George
Award-winning Delgado student spokesperson Benne' George.
Deondra Coleman
Award-winning Delgado student spokesperson Deondra Coleman.